Thanks, buddy – now I’m late.

I was driving to my first parent/teacher conference.  I needed to be on time because goodness knows I didn’t want to give the teacher the wrong impression.  (It was pre-K after all.)  All of a sudden some yahoo cuts into my lane, punches it through the yellow light causing me slam on the brakes.  Precious minutes tick by, because this light only changes once every millennium.

The other driver caused me to rethink my route, speed up, be late, get angry. I may have even broken a speeding law (or 2) thanks to the driver who is now far out of sight. Someone else made me act in a way that I wasn’t planning, and the thoughts in my head surely weren’t biblical.

This can happen in our spiritual life as well.  We let others cut in on us, causing us to lose focus and change what we were doing.  Instead of being influenced by Jesus we are being influenced by someone else. The Apostle Paul recognizes this problem in his letter to the Galatians.  He wrote, “You were running a good race.  Who cut in on you and kept you from obeying the truth?  That kind of persuasion does not come from the one who calls you.”  (Galatians 5:7-8)

In other words, you were headed in the right direction.  You were on target to make it to your destination.  Who got you off track?  Who caused you to swerve off the course that Jesus laid out for you?

If you think (or know) you are off track, take note of whom you have surrounded yourself with.  It could be that you have let someone cut you off in the traffic of life, sending you in a direction you never intended.  Recognize that when a person persuades you away from your spiritual walk that isn’t coming from Jesus.  Repent, refocus and get back on the road with Jesus as your guide.

Have a blessed day!

Leigh

One thought on “Thanks, buddy – now I’m late.

Leave a Reply

