Drifting

My favorite place to vacation is the beach.  Any beach.  I love the sand, the heat, the water, the breeze – I love it all.  Now that I’m older I sit on the beach and read book after book.  But when I was young I loved to get on a raft, get out in the water and float.

I can remember as a child I would walk in a fairly straight line from my mother or grandmother into the water, hoist myself up on my raft (which, BTW, a 1970’s raft wasn’t as sturdy as the ones you can buy today so it made for an extremely comical activity) and aimlessly float on the gulf water, being pushed along by a soft breeze and gentle current.

After a time I would hear Granny or my mother calling out to me.  I had drifted too far out or too far down the shore, too far for them to watch me and make sure I was safe.  So I would paddle in, get my raft and walk back down the beach to start my floating all over again.

If I’m not careful I can float away from Jesus, too.  I can float too far away causing me to lose sight of my savior and protector.  It’s important to spend time every day reading scripture, praying, and listening to the Holy Spirit.  The writer of Hebrews wrote, “We must pay more careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away.” (Hebrews 2:1)

If we are careful to pay close attention to the gospel, we will stay close to the shore and not drift away from the truth.  It is only when we let the things of this world separate us from Jesus that we float too far out.  So today, sit up on your raft and look around.  Do you see Him?  Can you hear Him?  If not, it is time to paddle back to shore.

One thought on “Drifting

Leave a Reply

