Totally…Messed…Up…

I thought something mean – said something ugly to my child – screamed at the dog – and fussed about my kitchen that looked like an army of gremlins had taken over.

And that was all before 7:30 a.m.

Some days I mess up – I mean really mess up – and would love an super ginormous eraser so that I could start all over and do things the right way.  Some nights I fall into bed so sorry for the way I acted that day.  I’m so sorry I’m embarrassed to confess it all to the One who forgives me of every wrong thought, word or action.

But somehow, when the sun comes up the next day, I wake up refreshed and renewed.  I can start a new day knowing I am forgiven.  “They (the Lord’s compassions) are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:23)  Every single morning we wake up His compassion for us is new again, giving us a fresh start to the day.  Why?  Because God is faithful to us, always delivering on the promises He has made.

In the quiet of the night or in the stillness of the early morning I can feel God loving me, forgiving me for the totally messed up day.  “So I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.’  The Lord is good to those whose hope is in Him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” (Lamentations 3:24-26)

Messy days happen because we just aren’t perfect on this side of heaven.  But thankfully, so does forgiveness and salvation for those who hope and trust in God alone.

Have a blessed weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

