A lonnnnggggg punishment

Several years ago my husband and I had to deliver a consequence to my oldest child.  It was the month of October and we let her pick her punishment – skip the Homecoming party or give up social media for the rest of the year (because she made the mistake of saying she would rather give up social media than miss the party.  Be careful what you wish for…).

Now you have to know my child – and some of you do.  Never has a social function gone on that she didn’t want to be all up in.  And usually was.  (And still is.) S o she made her choice – no social media until the end of the year.  Silently Todd and I chuckled, because we knew she had picked the worse punishment – she just didn’t know it yet.

When you are 15 it’s really hard to think more than a weekend out.  She went to the Homecoming party, and then afterwards week in and week out she suffered while all her friends talked at school about what was on Facebook.  She felt totally left out and thought the punishment would never end.

I’ve felt like that as an adult.  I’ve asked God more than once, “When, God? When is this going to stop? Why is this happening to me?” And followed up with “I can’t take it anymore!”

And it was during one of those periods of feeling like a punished teenager that God brought me to this scripture: “For men are not cast off by the Lord forever.  Though he brings grief, he will show compassion, so great is his unfailing love.” (Lamentations 3:31-32) 

You may feel like God isn’t showing up and never will, but that’s not biblical. The enemy loves it when we question God and get mad at God.  And if we don’t go to the Word, satan gets his foot in the door and steps right on in, taking over our thoughts and that becomes a huge problem.  

So when I feel like I’m going to be stuck in a mess forever I go to scripture.  There I find the truth which helps me to refocus on God the compassionate, God the provider, God the one who loves me.  Stuck in a mess?  Write Lamentations 3:31-32 on a piece of paper and repeat it throughout your day knowing that God WILL show compassion because His love for you NEVER fails.  

Have a blessed Monday!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

