Like, I’m totally sorry, OKAY???

When you mess up, what does your apology sound like?  Does it sound like the sweet 3 year old who spilled red Hawaiian Punch on your couch (“Sowwy, momma”) or the feisty teenager who knows EVERYTHING (“Like, I’m sorry, OKAY? UGGGHHHH!“)?  And if you suffer consequences, do you complain (“This is SO STUPID“) or do you accept the consequences, learn from them and move on?

We all mess up.  Every single day.  And fortunately for us we have a Savior who forgives us of it all.

But we have a responsibility, too.  We can’t just go around claiming forgiveness while acting like a child who got caught filling up the bathroom sink with water until it overflowed but not wanting to acknowledge her part in that fiasco… (not that one of my children ever did that…)

Are you suffering a consequence from a mistake?  Well first, quit complaining!  “Why should any living man complain when punished for his sin?  (Lamentations 3:39) Then fix it with God – “Let us examine our ways an test them, and let us return to the Lord.” (Lamentations 3:40) “… I have been disciplined.  Restore me, and I will return, because you are the Lord my God.  After I strayed, I repented; after I came to understand…” (Jeremiah 31:18-19)

God doesn’t want our moaning, complaining or grumbling.  He wants us to humble ourselves before him, repent, test our ways and return to Him.  Our spirits are restored much faster when we come to God as a sweet child than an obnoxious teenager.  And here is God’s promise again – “’I still remember him.  Therefore my heart yearns for him; I have great compassion for him,’ declares the Lord.”  (Jeremiah 31:20)

When we truly repent, God knows.  He remembers us, He yearns for us, and shows great compassion over the messes we have made.

Blessings!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

