Momma Bear

On more than one occasion my husband has called me Momma Bear.  Not sure where that came from because we don’t hunt or love the great outdoors (my idea of camping is the nearest Hampton Inn – just sayin’).

When my children were little and someone hurt them I would bow up, puff my chest out and was ready for a fight.  I was like an 8 foot grizzly standing on hind legs with a growl that would stop any living creature in its tracks. It was a “take me on if you think you can handle it, but leave my cubs alone” kind of thing I did.

Cubs need Momma Bear’s protection.  But as they have grown older I have had to take one step…two steps…many steps back while they handle problems on their own.

Being a momma (or a daddy) ain’t for sissies.  I’ve said it many times.  This week alone I have a child 5 hours away with strep throat and I’m unable to do anything for her other than love her through texts and phone calls.  And my other one is dealing with issues that I could handle for him, but won’t.  It’s painful, but necessary in the growing up process.

So what should we do when our children face tough situations?  Pray first.  “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” (Philippians 4:6) Then move out of the way:  “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” (Exodus 14:14)

Step one: easy for me.  Step two: not so much.  I still have the Momma Bear instinct, and I don’t think that will ever go away totally.  But I’m working on self-control because I don’t want my children running to their momma every time something doesn’t go their way or someone hurts them expecting me to fix it for them. (Momma Bear + Self Control = Difficult, BTW.)

But no matter how old they are I will always be their momma.  So even though they won’t run to me to be their fixer, hopefully they will run to me for love, acceptance and forgiveness, just as I run to my heavenly Father for the same.

Blessings,

Leigh

One thought on “Momma Bear

Leave a Reply

