I see London, I see France…

These days the news is full of stories about bullying and mean kids.  But mean kids aren’t new – we just hear way more about them because of the 24/7 news cycle and social media.  Maybe you have to be a certain age to know the end of the rhyme in my title but I heard it over and over in elementary school – said to me, said to friends – humiliation and meanness starts early in case you didn’t experience those.

Move on to middle school.  My eye teeth came in so big and fast and out of place that I was called vampire on more than one occasion.  Glasses with lenses resembling the bottom of the old Coke bottles?  Yes, please because the vampire comment just wasn’t doing it for me.  Oh and I’m pretty sure that asking for a Thesaurus for Christmas one year solidified the geek label right then and there.

My mother never once fought a battle for me – at least not those battles.  I don’t really remember how much of the humiliation I shared with her, but she knew.  Mommas know.

So now I have my own children.  Kids have been mean to them, and I’m sure they’ve been mean at times too.  (If you think you child has never ever been mean ask God for some insight – then ask Him for wisdom to handle what He shows you.)  That doesn’t make them bad, it just makes them a human who sins. Just like the rest of us.

And lately I’ve taken a new approach to this whole mean kid thing.  I look at it for what it really is – it’s satan using children to try and destroy other children, sometimes mine.  “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy…”  (John 10:10)  The enemy will use anything – including your child’s schoolmates and friends – to steal their joy, kill their happiness and destroy their lives.  That’s his fun zone.  In the past I focused all my energy on the mean kid but now I take the focus off the child and put it where it belongs – on the enemy.

I may lose a battle, but I won’t lose the war.  He may win here and there by making one of mine sad for a day, but through prayer we fight back.  We pray for satan to leave the mean kids.  We pray for protection against satan’s attacks through those kids.  We pray that Christ’s love will be shown through our family.  We pray.

“Do not repay anyone evil for evil.  Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everybody.  If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everybody.  Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,’ says the Lord.  On the contrary:  ‘If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something the drink.  In doing this you will heap burning coals on his head.’ Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”  (Romans 12:17-21)

And for the record, the enemy won’t win the war for my children’s spirits because this Momma Bear is in the war for the long haul – and I’ve got Jesus on my side.

Blessings!

Leigh

One thought on “I see London, I see France…

  1. Great message….so true!! It is beautiful watching you share your heart!! Always remember…more people read them than reply…so don’t ever judge them by the likes! You just have to die to that!!!

Leave a Reply

