Let me pencil you in…

I’m a scheduling fanatic.  I-cal on my Mac is so pretty – everyone in the family has their own distinct color on my calendar, and in the summer it looks like a beautiful rainbow on paper.  My family has made fun of my calendar more than once.  More than a gazillion times actually, but I don’t care.  I add and delete from my color-coded calendar, marching successfully from one event to the next.

Now I can be spontaneous – I just have to pencil that in. (Tuesday, 2:00 – Do Something Spontaneous.)

A drawback exists for all of us organizational freaks out there – we miss opportunities.  A lot of them.  Sometimes it’s because they don’t fit in with our schedule, but sometimes it’s because we are so focused on what we have planned for the day that we never see what God may have planned for our day.

A few months ago I was in Sam’s, dutifully checking off my shopping list (which is coordinated on my phone by store and then by aisle in a particular store) when an older lady needed help getting an oversized package of bottled waters in her cart.  I wasn’t too busy at that moment to pick them up and put them in her cart, so check!  Mark “do something nice for someone else” off my to-do list for the day.

But as I stood in line to check out, I felt the Holy Spirit prompt me.  “How do you think she’s going to get those waters into her car?”  Oh.  Didn’t think about that.  I still had Pubix, CVS and Target to hit (with coordinating coupons in hand).

I didn’t see her when I was checking out.  But I knew I had to find her.  I put my purchases in my car then started looking around for her.  Found her.  Put the waters in her trunk for her.  Got the biggest hug ever from a total stranger.  Made my day.

Don’t be too busy to see the little opportunities to help others.  “Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.”  (Philippians 2:4)  Open your eyes to others’ needs – great and small.  You will be blessed.

Have a fantastic Monday – and take a moment to thank all those who have and are serving in our military.  We owe them a debt we can never fully pay.

Leigh

Leave a Reply

