Polly Positive

A few weeks ago I was texting my sister about a situation and told her to “Go be Polly Positive.”  Her response: “Who?  What are you talking about?”

I forgot that she hadn’t been in on my years of Polly Positive-isms.  I’ve told my children to go be Polly Positive on many occasions (which, I’m just realizing, may have caused my son some harm – should have used Peter Positive with him).  Anyway, if my kid’s team members were discouraged – go be Polly.  If a teacher seemed unfair – Polly should show up.

It’s not always easy for Polly (or Peter) to make an appearance when life is handing you a dish full of yuck.  It’s much easer for Debbie Downer to show her ugly head, bemoaning “It’s not fair” or “I’m sick of this.”

I have learned that the more I make Polly appear, the more she appears all by herself. But sometimes when satan has been working overtime in my life I have to go find Polly.  She might be behind Debbie, but she can also hide behind Wanda Worrier and Angelina Anxiety.  (And I know I’m not the only one out there with a split personality…just glad there aren’t more in there…)

This passage of Scripture always helps me find Polly, even when she seems to be MIA:  “And we urge you, brothers, warn those who are idle, encourage the timid, help the weak, be patient with everyone…Be joyful always, pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:14, 16)

It’s not God’s will for you to be stuck in the yuck, depressed, sad and miserable.  It’s God’s will for you to be joyful, be an encourager, spread His love around.  And when we are all those things in the midst of the chaos people really get to see our Jesus. It’s easy to be patient, helpful or joyful when life is easy.  But if you love Him, trust Him and believe Him your inner Polly will show up faster and more frequently when life gets hard.  And Jesus is counting on us, the ones who say we love Him, to be someone’s Polly today.

Encourage – help – be patient – be joyful – pray – give thanks.  Find your inner Polly.

Leigh

One thought on “Polly Positive

Leave a Reply

