Probability – #Not

It’s been a long time since I sat at my kitchen table and helped my children with homework (Praise the Lord and Hallelujah!  Free at last, free at last!).  My husband & I divided the subjects down the stereotypical line – he helped with math and science, I was the English and social studies tutor.

I often had to step in the math & science world because Todd did have to work after all.  And I would do all right until it came to one concept in math – probability.

The word problem would look something like this:  Sally puts 3 green chips, 8 yellow chips and 2 blue chips in a bag.  What is the probability that she will pull out a green chip?

My answer?  WHO CARES????  I never could understand why we cared what color chip a kid would pull out of a bag.  Still don’t.  As my friend Barbara would say, “We just need to teach them to tell time and make change.  They can survive on that.”

So if you put 3 Baptists, 8 Methodists and a couple of Catholics in a church, what’s the probability that they will agree on doctrine?  (Sounds like a bad bar joke, I know).

And that’s where I say again, who cares?  I’ve been a Methodist my whole life so I’m not knocking any denomination.  I’m simply saying that we all too often let doctrine get in the way of showing Jesus to others.  Jesus doesn’t want us fighting over our different beliefs – He wants us spreading the Gospel and living out His teachings.

In the book of Romans Paul wrote, “Therefore let us stop passing judgment on one another.  Instead, make up your mind not to put any stumbling block or obstacle in your brother’s way… Accept one another, then, just as Christ accepted you, in order to bring praise to God.” (Romans 14:13, 15:7)

We are to accept others as Christ accepted us.  As we are.  Yucky, sinful, but His children nonetheless.  When you put it that way, the differences become very small, and the probability of serving Jesus hits 100%.

Have a blessed Monday!

Leigh

 

Leave a Reply

