My choice? Chocolate!

I have an insatiable sweet tooth.  Dark chocolate Reese’s cups, peanut M&M’s, vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup… My list is waaaayyyy too long to post.  (Besides, if I keep listing you will probably speed off to Publix and blow your budget stocking up on junk food.)

I’ve been blessed with height and a small frame, so for years I could eat whatever I wanted.  Fattening foods did my weight no harm in college.  And with my first baby I really bounced right back. (But now that second pregnancy was a different story.)

And now I’m in my – um, hmmm – 40’s.  I shouldn’t go around eating whatever I want, even though I still do.  It’s funny how I can be so disciplined in some areas, but put Dove chocolate in front of me and I look like my cat pouncing on a spider.  And my body is not bouncing back the way it used to – my weight is “settling” as my mother would say.

Life is full of choices.  I choose to eat chocolate instead of lose a few pounds and tone up.  I choose to eat 2 cookies instead of work out.  I choose, and I enjoy the reward or suffer the consequence. (Or in this case, enjoy the taste but then suffer the extra weight…)

Moses made a choice, too.  “By faith Moses, when he had grown up, refused to be known as the son of Pharoah’s daughter.  He chose to be mistreated along with the people of God rather to enjoy the pleasures of sin for a short time.” (Hebrews 11:24-25)  Moses chose to suffer rather than take the easy road.  He could have enjoyed a life of luxury, but at what cost?  The cost of his spirit, his faith.

“He regarded disgrace for the sake of Christ as of greater value than the treasures of Egypt, because he was looking ahead to his reward.” (Hebrews 11:26)  Moses knew that suffering for his faith would bring him an eternal reward, one that is far greater than anything he would experience on earth.

In this world of comfort I live in, I have to ask myself this question:  Am I willing to suffer for Christ and an eternal reward rather than live in luxury?  It’s real easy to say yes when I’m sitting in my warm home, drinking coffee out of a Keurig, cat cuddled next to me.  What if I was stripped of it all, destitute, beaten?  What would I do?

God prepares us for future blessings AND disasters.  He gives us little tests along the way so that we are prepared if and when the big one comes we will respond as Jesus has taught us, a response that will be the right choice.

As I said yesterday, make your choices wisely.

Have a blessed weekend!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

