Singing Like Carrie Underwood

I can sing just like Carrie Underwood.  Yep, I can.  Especially when I’m all alone and there’s no one around to tell me any different.  I mean, I sound just like her in my own head!  You believe me, right?  Or do you want some proof?  Do you really take my word for it or do you want to hear me belt out “I Told You So”? (Oh and I do – in my room, in my car – whenever I’m all by my little lonesome…)

Ask anyone in the deep south if they believe in God and they will probably say yes.  Not everyone, but most will.  And I could be complacent, taking them at their word for it, just believing what they say.  And you would think that would provide me with some comfort where I live, a little bit of protection and shelter.

It doesn’t.

Why?  “You believe that there is one God.  Good!  Even the demons believe that…”  (James 2:19)

It isn’t enough to believe God is real, that He sent His son to pay the ultimate price for our sins or that He created the earth.  Even the demons believe that.

So what is enough?  “Faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.” (James 2:17)  “His faith and his actions were working together, and his faith was made complete by what he did.” (James 2:22) “As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.” (James 2:26)

Just like you want proof that I’m as good as Carrie singing “Temporary Home” (which you will never get), we believers need actions to prove what we believe.  If I say I love Jesus then tell a lie, what does that prove?  If I say I worship Him but don’t serve others what does that show the world?  Without actions we are no better than the demons who believe in God.

Thankfully I won’t subject anyone to my singing (my daughter swears I’m tone deaf).  But I will try to live out each day what I believe with a servant’s heart and joy in my spirit.  Living out my belief with words and actions separates me from the demons.

And I just can’t get far enough away from them.

Blessings this Thanksgiving week!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

