He Knows

“’For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.’” (Jeremiah 29:11)

That passage is one of the most memorized passages of Scripture and a perfect one to focus on as we should start the new year.  So over the next few days I’m going to break this verse down and relay to you what God has shown me.  In my time of meditation on Jeremiah 29:11 God showed me 4 promises, each one worth its own time of reflection.

The first promise from God is “I know the plans I have for you.”  God created us.  He knew we would be here long before we were born.  God knows His plans for us, period.  It’s not a guessing game with Him – He KNOWS, and that statement from God should be enough to ease my anxiety.  But over the years I kept finding myself asking the frustrating question, “How do I know what Your plans are for me?

I got all freaked out because I wasn’t 100% sure I was doing what I was supposed to be doing.  And if you are a Type A personality like me, well it’s enough to drive you bonkers.  When praying about this I often disguised my words with very Chrisitian sounding phrases, “Lord show me your will so that I can be your servant,” but in my heart my prayers really sounded more like, “I want to know my future, and I want to know it now, God.  Thanks.”  I’m a planner.  I have a color-coded calendar.  I pencil in “Do something spontaneous.”  So to launch every day into the great unknown is unsettling.

And you know what God has shown me?  Unsettled is exactly where He wants me.  Because only then – only when I’m not in control of my calendar but I relinquish control to Him – do I totally trust Him with my future.  If I knew what every day held for me, what would be the point in starting my day with Jesus?  (None) Why would I pray my prayers and seek His will?  (I wouldn’t.)

In the quiet of the mornings I hear from Jesus.  I hear Him speak into my spirit a few words of direction of encouragement.  It never comes when I get wound up trying to figure out my future because I’m using my limited brain power to put together a 20,000 piece life puzzle.  Words from Jesus – the next few pieces I need to continue to shape my life puzzle – only come when I am still, quiet, and focused on Him.

Unsolved bunch of puzzles

So I’m excited about 2014.  I have no earthly idea what the year will hold for me, but this morning I heard Jesus clearly tell me to keep writing.  So I will.  For His glory.  Because guess what?  He knows the plans He has for me, so I don’t have to.  I trust in Him, therefore I trust in His plans.

Happy New Year!

Leigh

One thought on “He Knows

  1. Starting the year off RIGHT with GODLY INSIGHT into the PLANS…HE HAS!! I love sharing the words God gives to you with those I know! Keep going, Girl! This is only the BEGINNING! They WILL…UNFOLD as you continue to be FAITHFUL to HIM…one day…one step…at a time!

Leave a Reply

