God’s wrath? No thanks.

“’For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.’” (Jeremiah 29:11)

This year I’m starting my blog focusing on one of my favorite verses in the Bible.  God shared with me 4 promises found in that verse (see my previous 2 posts) and today I focus on promise #3 – “plans…not to harm you.”

Now that may sound a little weird to you – it did to me at first, too.  Not to harm me?  Of course God doesn’t want to harm me.  Why would He?

Well for heaven’s sake just read the Old Testament.  God did harm people – A LOT of people.  People had their eyes poked out, their guts spilled out, some were turned into sand and some just stabbed outright.  Yep, a lot of people were harmed when God turned His wrath on them.

wrath

And why did those people suffer the wrath of God? Because they sought other gods and put those gods before the only God of the universe and they deliberately disobeyed God’s Word.  This passage is one of many explaining why God poured out his wrath on His people: “But they rebelled against me and would not listen to me; they did not get rid of the vile images they had set their eyes on, nor did they forsake the idols of Egypt.  So I said I would pour out my wrath on them and spend my anger against them in Egypt.” (Ezekial 8:20)

And He did.  God poured out His wrath on His people from time to time, but see that’s not His plan.  His plan is for us to live our lives in such a way that we are in constant fellowship with Him, loving Him, seeking His wisdom, His guidance every single day.  When we do, His plan is to prosper us, not to harm us.  But humans are humans and some think they are smarter, more clever, or they are simply rebellious.  And although God is loving and compassionate, even His patience runs out eventually which leads to… yep, His wrath.

(Just so we’re clear, I don’t worship God because I’m afraid of getting my eyeballs poked out.  Keeping my eyeballs where they belong is just a side benefit.  I don’t follow Him out of fear – I follow and worship Him because I love Him and I want His good and perfect plan for my life.)

God has a plan for your life, a plan not to harm you but to prosper you.  Will you trust and submit to His plan for your life or be stubborn and go your own way?

Well don’t say I didn’t warn you..

Blessings on this Friday!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

