Promise #4

“’For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.’” (Jeremiah 29:11)

For the last few days I’ve broken this verse down and shared 4 promises that God spoke to me.  Promise #1 – He knows the plans he has for me.  Promise #2 – He has plans to prosper me.  Promise #3 – He has plans not to harm me.  Which leads me to promise #4 – He has plans to give me a hope and a future.

To fully feel the weight of the promise of a hope and a future you need to have experienced a low point in your life.  And I don’t mean the kind of low when you discover all the Xbox Ones are sold out for Christmas or your hairdresser is booked 6 weeks out (which I know for a lot of us women can seem like an all-out 9 alarm fire kind of low point).

I mean the low that drives you to your knees, overwhelmed by loss or grief.  Or both.  The low where no loved one, no friend can comfort you.  Because here’s the deal – when life is rocking right along on all 8 cylinders, we get real comfortable.  “Well sure I have hope and a future.  My job is awesome, my family gets along with each other and I’ve got money in the bank!  Heck yeah I’ve got hope and my future is so bright I might as well wear shades!”

sunrise

So where’s your hope and future when you get laid off, everyone is fighting and you don’t have enough money to pay your bills?  Where’s your hope and future when your spouse asks you for a divorce or your child suffers from an incurable disease?  Where do you go?  To whom do you cry?  In what do you put your trust?

It’s far too easy to trust God for a hope and a future in the good times but be mad at Him because we don’t see either in the midst of our struggles. 

I know bad times are coming.  Not because I’m a pessimist but because I’m a human living in a broken world.  I will be tested – and so will you.  Where will we put our trust for our hope and our future?

“I KNOW the plans I have for you… plans for a hope and a future.”  Those words are straight from God’s mouth to us through His word.  I trust Him.  I trust His plans for me.  I trust in the 4 promises found in Jeremiah 29:11.

Blessings for your hope and future!

Leigh

One thought on “Promise #4

  1. We need to live our lives based on what we KNOW from Scripture and not how we feel in the moment. We need to take His promises to heart and focus on Him when things get tough. Thanks for the beautiful reminder today. Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

