The Great Ice Storm of ’82

So all this crazy cold weather makes me think about another winter storm I lived through – the Great Ice Storm of ’82.  I’m a freshman in high school, taking my first set of high school exams.  I’m finishing up my math exam, when our principal comes over the PA system and announces that school is now closing due to anticipated bad weather.

I’m only 15 so I can’t drive yet.  And yes, this is way before cell phones so I have to just assume my mother is watching James Spann (the BEST Birmingham meteorologist), listen to his doomsday predictions and will come pick me up.  As I wait at the front of Vestavia High School for my mom the weather is quickly getting worse – I’ve never seen so much freezing rain and snow coming down so fast!  Slowly the parking lot empties and I’m still waiting with a few other students for parents to save us from impending doom – being stuck in the high school for the duration of the storm!  (Extra homework?  Cafeteria food for days on end?  Uhhhhh, no thanks…)

I finally see her pulling into the high school.  She rolls rolls up in our 2-door 1980 Cutlass Supreme (80’s SWAG) and we decide to take the easiest route home – or so we thought.  Down Rocky Ridge Road (relatively flat) then up Shades Crest Road (which is more like Mount Kilimanjaro)…

mountain

We make it down Rocky Ridge Road in record time (about an hour).  And now mother must navigate the good ‘ol 2 door Cutlass up Shades Crest Road.  About a third of the way up we realize we are not going to make it to the top where we live.  Not even close.  Too much ice, too much incline, too much Cutlass.  So we stop the car, get out and get ready to walk up the mountain to our home, neither one of us dressed for a wintry hike.

Then we hear it.  A motor.  A BIG motor.  Thankfully two good ‘ol country boys in a pick up truck are making it up the mountain quite easily, and they stop to give us a ride.  So now my mother and I are crammed into the cab of the pickup, grateful that these two strangers have come along at just the right time.  They drive us right up to our home, safely delivering us to where we wanted to be.

Those men remind me of the story of the Good Samaritan found in the book of Luke.  “But a Samaritan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him.  He went to him and bandaged his wounds, pouring on oil and wine.  Then he put the man on his own donkey, took him to an inn and took care of him…” (Luke 10:33-34)

Sometimes we get stuck in life.  Sometimes we need help from others around us to get up the mountain, and that’s OK.  Don’t be afraid to ask for help or too proud to accept it when you are stuck because God never meant for us to travel the treacherous roads alone.  He may place an obvious helper in your path, or He may use a more discreet one.  But either way trust in His plan, knowing He has provided the help you need to get safely home, out of the wintry storm in your life.

Sending warm blessings your way today!

Leigh

One thought on “The Great Ice Storm of ’82

  1. Pingback: Unprepared | Christian Momma Meditations

Leave a Reply

