Joy and Peace

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace…”

What a sweet prayer that is from the Apostle Paul.  I definitely want to be filled with all joy and peace.  I mean, just look around at the crazy world we live in today.  We’ve got serious problems with the debt ceiling, the Affordable Care Act and mounting concerns over Iran developing nuclear bombs.

And gosh if the bigger world issues don’t freak you out, how about a little closer to home?   Maybe you’re concerned about a child using SnapChat to send not-so-nice pictures of himself to a friend.  Or you’ve got one who goes out and stays out – and you don’t know where they are or whom they are with.  Got enough money saved to put your child through the most expensive 4 years of their lives?  Are you and Mrs. Perfect still getting along as well as you did the day you said, “I do?”

So… back to peace and joy.  Those 2 hot little commodities aren’t items you pick up at your local CVS like prescriptions or shampoo.  We need to read more of that verse to see how peace and joy are obtained in this nutty world.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him…”  I cannot fully express with words what I have learned about trusting Jesus over the last 2 years.  It would take too long and honestly some of it is just too personal.  But I can share this – I know the exact moment when I fully and completely put my trust in Jesus.  It took time, it took the right godly people in my life and it took living through some rough situations to open my eyes and yes, my spirit to trusting Jesus with everything I had, every anxiety, every situation, every single moment.

And I can also tell you this – since that day I have had peace in the areas of my life I felt the most anxiety about.  I have a joy that I’ve never felt before.  Today I can personally fulfill the last part of this verse:  “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)  Two years ago I couldn’t have imagined that I would be overflowing with hope.  But today I’m overflowing with hope, peace and joy.

So how do you experience joy and peace?  By fully trusting Jesus.   And I don’t mean a convenient when everything is going right trust.  I mean in your darkest days trusting Him for deliverance into better days trust.

prayer-on-my-knees4

My prayer is that you will fully trust Jesus in every single area of your life and experience real peace, real hope, real joy.

Blessings!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

