All out of colors

I am well known for my color-coded calendar.  Every person in my family has their own color, then there’s other colors for birthdays, work, etc.  So the other day I was going to add an event and I realized to my SHOCK and HORROR that it didn’t really match up with the categories created and oh my gosh I was out of colors!  What’s an overly OCD calendar scheduling person supposed to do?

Calendar

So yes – I stress about little things like matching up colors on my calendar.   You probably think I’m crazy, but I know there are others out there like me (well, there’s at least one who will remain nameless to protect the innocent…)

Here’s the funny thing, though.  I can schedule all the colors I want, but unless God stamps “APPROVED” on the calendar it really doesn’t matter.  “Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.”  (Proverbs 19:21)  It’s more important for God’s purpose to happen than any of the events on my calendar.  The trick is to be open to those opportunities – to not be so tied to any event or schedule that you can’t be used for a higher purpose.

We think we know what’s important and how our day is going to play out, but God usually has other plans for us, if we will only look beyond our time slots to His much bigger heavenly schedule.

No, I’m not giving up my calendar of colors.  But I am starting each day with a “This is what I think is going to happen today, Lord.  But I’m here to serve, so if you need me to do something else just let me know.”  It’s hard for us so-called control freaks to pray it and mean it, but I’ve found that the days I do I experience some of the most unseen and unplanned blessings ever.

Now where is that pencil with an eraser????

Blessings!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

