A Difficult Day

So today will be a hard day for my family.  My daughter has been home from her first semester at college for 6 weeks and she leaves today to go back to school.  I guess some parents are excited or maybe relieved when a child goes back to school – I’m neither.  It just never gets easier watching her drive down the street, turn left and disappear out of my sight.

 jeep_driving_away

So this morning as I tried my best to prepare my happy face for the day, God blessed me with comforting words from Jesus Calling: “Come to Me, and rest in My loving Presence.  You know that this day will bring difficulties, and you are trying to think your way through those trials… I will strengthen you and prepare you for this day, transforming your fear into confident trust.”  Oh how I needed those words on this day!

I know today will be emotionally taxing.  But I don’t have to prepare for it alone – Jesus is right there, holding my hand, listening to my prayers for her safety.  He loves and appreciates my heart – a mother’s heart – and knows how difficult days like today are.

I know many of you are struggling with much bigger problems than what I face today but we have this in common:  we are all blessed to have a Savior who knows our lives, appreciates our struggles and loves us through it all.  So no matter what you are facing today, pour out your soul to your heavenly Father.  Rest in His loving presence.  Feel the weight of the struggles being lifted from your shoulders.  Jesus knows you, He loves you, He will provide for you.

“My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.”  (Psalm 63:8)

Blessings!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

