Time Marches On

Last night while watching TV I had a moment.  A moment that caught me off guard.  One of those moments that came from nowhere and hurt my heart.  For whatever reason I just really, really wished that time would stand still.

 time

I wished my parents wouldn’t get any older, just stay the age they are.  I wished my children wouldn’t grow up any more, move out of the house and start their own lives.  I wished my husband and I would stay just as we are – alive, still married to each other, enjoying our marriage.  (I even apologized to my dad on a text for getting married and driving my little Honda Accord to North Carolina to start my new life, leaving him and my mother crying in the driveway back in 1989. He texted back that he felt like that decision had turned out all right…)

I know the feelings came from sending my daughter back to college yesterday.  But one feeling led to another, then to another, and so on…

And it’s not the single minute or the single day that I wanted to freeze.  It’s cumulative time – just the whole big chunk of time that I wished would hold up.  When my children were younger, let’s say up through middle school, I didn’t think much about their leaving for college.  At the time I felt like I would have them at home forever.  And when my mother used to drive up “The 400” in Atlanta to help me with newborn babies, I just didn’t look ahead to her and my daddy being in their 70’s (which I am VERY grateful for, BTW).  So today, reflecting on the time that has gone by, I got caught up asking have I made the most of my time here on earth?

“For time and the world do not stand still. Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or the present are certain to miss the future.”

–       John F. Kennedy –

President Kennedy makes a great point.  I may go backwards in time in my head and even have the occasional pity party for myself, but that won’t last long.  Because if I wallow in self-pity, rehashing the past that I can’t change or getting stuck in the past I will mess up my future. There’s really no point in wishing time would stand still, that I did things differently in the past, or beating myself up over past mistakes.  Those activities are a huge WASTE OF TIME. Instead I went to the Bible and found this verse to repeat: “If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Corinthians 5:17)

And I guess you have to be a little older to appreciate time – I know I wasted a lot of it when I was younger but I now want to make the most of the additional time God has given me.  So as you think about the time God has given you today, keep in mind these comforting words Jesus spoke to His disciples about time:  “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”  (Matthew 28:20)  Time won’t stand still.  But Jesus will be with me – and He will be with you – so that we can make the most of our time every single day.

Have a blessed weekend!

Leigh

One thought on “Time Marches On

Leave a Reply

