Trusting In The Outcome

I know that in the grand scheme of life a JV State Basketball Tournament may not seem like a big deal – unless you are a coach, player or more importantly – the momma of a player.  So Saturday on the way to Selma for the tournament I was VERY nervous, EXTREMELY anxious.  Why?  Because when you are the momma of a freshman player on a JV team you feel like the success of the team rides on your son’s shoulders.  And that’s a lot of pressure for him – and you.

basketball

It’s a boring two hour drive from Auburn to Selma, so I kept praying Philippians 4:6-7 over and over in my head:  “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

And the peace came.  Now I had to repeat it multiple times in the car and before every game we played, but it came.

And before the championship game (which coincidentally was between us and our biggest rival Glendwood) the Holy Spirit gently reminded me that God is in control.  He knows who will play, He knows the score, He knows who will win, and His plan is the perfect plan.  I trusted the outcome because I accepted the fact that God already had it all planned out.  And I think that’s the key to calming our anxiety when we are in a stressful or chaotic situation – we need to remind ourselves that God already knows what is going to happen, whatever the circumstances.

If you are truly seeking God’s will it is easier to accept it,
even when it is not the outcome you desire.

For the record, my son’s team lost the game and were named JV State Runners-Up.  They fought back from being down 15 points and even tied the game, but just came up a little short at the end.  But I couldn’t have been more proud and thankful that they played the way they did.  Disappointed?  Sure.  Did I let satan steal my joy? Absolutely NOT!  My son will learn from a loss just as he will learn from a win – just as I learn from wins and losses in my life.

(Oh and for those of you who know me – I also had to repeat Psalm 141:3: “Set a guard over my mouth, O Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips.”  That will make you laugh because you know I can get a little rowdy at basketball games – especially when we are playing Glenwood!)

Trust Him with every outcome today!

Leigh

Leave a Reply

