No Social Media For Me

The first three weeks of January I participate in my church’s time of prayer and fasting.  The point is to fast something worldly, something that draws you away from Jesus so that you can focus more on Jesus.  People fast all sorts of things, some even full-out food fast.  Me?  I kept on eating (a lot).  But I did fast social media – no Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. for 21 days.

social media

And to be honest, I’ve felt much more content with my little world because I don’t have anything to compare it to.  I don’t get upset with people who post their ski vacation pictures, their Pasadena memories or their den upgrades that make the most avid Pinterest follower jealous.  I get upset with myself when I let the enemy use those FB posts and Instagram pictures make me feel discontented.

The enemy will use social media or anything else he can to attempt to steal your joy.  Your soft spot might be something else, but my point is this: we need to be better at cutting out the things in our life that breed discontentment and fill that space with life-giving, beneficial activities.  Does the 5:00 news leave you depressed? Quite watching it and go read a good book.  Are the lyrics in some of the songs you listen to degrading, or down-right nasty?  Delete them off your iPod and replace them with worship songs.

The more we replace the yuck in our lives with spiritual things – books, songs, movies, etc. the more we feel Jesus’ presence in our lives.  And the closer we are to Jesus, the more content we feel.  At least that’s how these last 21 days have worked out for me.

“But godliness with contentment is great gain.  For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it.  But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.”  (1 Timothy 6:6-8)

Give it a try.  Cut out whatever is manipulating your time or your emotions and experience a renewed peace and contentment.

Blessings!
Leigh

One thought on “No Social Media For Me

  1. Pingback: Addiction Averted | Christian Momma Meditations

Leave a Reply

