Addiction Averted

If you read my post from Monday (See No Social Media for Me) you know I participated in my church’s 21 days of prayer and fasting that ended on Saturday.  I fasted social media for 21 days and at the end I wrote about how I was more content in my life because I was focused more on Jesus and less on my FB friends’ vacation pictures and delicious (although mostly really fattening) recipes.

pie

Enter Snowmaggedon.

If you think I haven’t been knee deep in Twitter and FaceBook you’d be right.  I’ve been up to my eyeballs in tweets, FB posts and Instagram pictures for 3 solid days.  I’ve been like a junkie who just got out of rehab and sprinted as fast as I could back to my crack dealer for a fix.

Gosh satan is so clever.  But the more time I spend with Jesus the faster I clue in to his schemes.  Yep, he used #gridlock2014 to suck me right back in to spending entirely too much time on social media.  (My excuse?  I used to live in Birmingham and Atlanta.  I might see someone I know walking down the snow covered streets!)  It was an easy draw for me.  My husband hates 24 hour, wall-to-wall coverage, but I love it.  Can’t get enough of it.  I want to see every picture, read every story, live vicariously through the disaster by what I see and read.

And the enemy knows my weaknesses.  And he used this disaster it to pull me right back into the place I had just spent 21 days walking away from, my social media addiction.

Praise Jesus I had those 21 days of abstinence.  Praise Jesus I recognized what satan was doing today, before my addiction spiraled out of control again (Wake up.  Check Twitter.  Recheck FB throughout the day to see how many “Likes” I get on a post.  Scroll through Instagram before going to bed…)

Oh yes, I will continually be tempted.  And so will you.  And we will be tempted far beyond how much time we spend on social media.  But God will always provide a way out for us. “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man.  And God is faithful, He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear.  But when you are tempted, He will also provide away out so that you can stand up under it.”  (1 Corinthians 10:13) Today my way out came in simple form – just a realization of the shenanigans satan was up to and then exiting out of FaceBook.  Bigger temptations will arise, but remember this:

Our escape from sin may not always be obvious, but it is always available.

Have a blessed weekend!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

