No Excuses

When my son was around 5 years old he carved his name into my great grandmother’s phonograph player, a treasured antique that was given to me and resides in the entry way into my home.

photo

His actions threw me, because he isn’t a devious or sneaky kid.  It’s just not his nature.  And when I asked him why he “hurt my furniture” (had to use 5 year old vocabulary back then) he just looked at me with those big, sorry-filled eyes.  No excuse would come to his lips.

Children mess up a lot.  But guess what?  I also mess up.  Every day.  The difference is I can always come up with a long list of excuses as to why I did something dumb:

I was angry.
I was frustrated.
I am exhausted.
I was selfish.
I am impatient.

Yeah, OK – I could go on and on.  But the list of excuses is just that – a list of excuses.

Excuses are simply synonyms for sin.  Anger = sin.  Frustration = sin.  And on, and on, and on down my list of excuses.

So back to my story.  I really wasn’t interested in my son’s excuse as to why he vandalized a 100 year old piece of furniture because quite frankly, nothing he could have said would have made any sense or justified his actions.  Instead I was looking for genuine remorse from him.  After a few minutes he said the sweetest “I’m sorry” a 5 year old could say. I gave him a huge hug and we moved on to something else.  And that made me think about this:  Jesus really isn’t interested in my excuses either.  He’s way more interested in my repentance, my restitution and my willingness to be obedient.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  But if we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives.”  (1 John 1:9-10)

No excuses.  Run to your heavenly Father who loves you no matter how badly you mess up.  Sincerely seek His forgiveness, fully receive it and then move on knowing you have a fresh start thanks to the only One who forgives all sins – Christ Jesus.

Blessings!
Leigh

One thought on “No Excuses

Leave a Reply

