Bless Her Heart

If you are my friend on FaceBook you saw this post on Wednesday:

photo

Now I know the sweet girl checking me out at Sam’s was just trying to be helpful, but quite frankly she wasn’t.  I didn’t walk away from that exchange feeling better about myself.  Nope, now I was worried that in a few short days I would forget how to even get home from Sam’s or I would wake up and not remember the names of my children.

It was a quick conversation – no harm intended – but I got to wondering how many times I’ve done that to someone else.  How many times have I intended to be helpful but instead made a situation worse?

In the south, we call it the “Bless her heart” syndrome.

Bless her heart, she shouldn’t buy that Zicam.”
Bless her heart, she shouldn’t wear that pair of jeans that is really for a younger person.”
Bless her heart, she shouldn’t be friends with Bobbie Sue because you can’t trust her.”

As if whatever we say after “Bless her heart” gets a pass because, well, we are blessing her heart after all.  But when we interject our opinions into other people’s lives we need to be very careful.  Are we really helping that person?  Are we breathing life into their spirit or are we pinching the life out of them like a rickety old aunt who pinches the fire out of your cheeks when she hasn’t seen you for awhile?

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”   (Ephesians 4:29)

That one verse gives us a vital life lesson.  So instead of “Bless her heart,”  let’s switch it to “Bless her.”  Let’s pour out blessings from our mouths, blessings that will build up, not tear down – blessings that will heal, not destroy.

Bless y’all – have a fabulous weekend!
Leigh

P.S. – I think I’m OK on the Alzheimer’s issue because I can smell peanut butter from a mile away.  Who knew???

Leave a Reply

