Safety in the Storm

I was sitting in my driveway, wrapped up in a little ball.  My knees up to my chest, arms hugging my legs tight.  It was dark, the middle of the night and I was all alone.

Out of nowhere the brightest light struck the concrete at the very place I was sitting.  It was a blinding light and all I could see for that moment was the color white.  No house, driveway or tree was visible, just the brightest white light everywhere I looked.

lightning

I realized I had been struck by lightning.  I was scared and confused but somehow I made my way to the front door of the house.  I could see my daddy standing in the kitchen, fully dressed in a button down, khakis and saddle oxfords reading the newspaper.  I rang the doorbell and when he looked up from the paper he dropped it immediately, ran to the door and let me in.

I woke up from this nightmare with my heart racing, beating out of my chest.  It scared me to almost to death!  Gosh I was so thankful that experience wasn’t real, only my imagination running down Crazy Street in the middle of the night.

But oh how real it is.  All too often we sit alone in the dark, away from our heavenly father.  We try to protect ourselves in a little ball when we are scared and frightened.  And sometimes it takes a horrific, scary event to get us to run to Jesus, to His house, to His protection when He’s there all the time, waiting to open the door.

“But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy.  Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you.”  (Psalm 5:11)

In my nightmare I greatly rejoiced when my daddy opened the door, ready to protect me from the storm!  Jesus is right there, his hand on the doorknob.  No matter what storm you face today, seek Jesus first and rest in the safety of His protection.

Blessings!
Leigh

2 thoughts on “Safety in the Storm

  1. What a beautiful message. I needed this today. Sometimes, when I’m too afraid to leave my cocoon of comfort, I know that my Father will come to me. He says, “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends” (Revelation 3:20). If I let Him in or He lets me in, at least we will be together, Father and daughter. Friends.
    Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

