Valentine’s Day? So What?

So today is Valentine’s Day.  Big Whoop.  Now for all of you that go all out on Valentine’s Day, that’s great!  Go big or go home, as a friend of mine always said.  Dinner…Flowers…Candy…  Knock yourself out.

My husband and I have an understanding about Valentine’s Day.  Neither one of us really care.  At all.  And I’m not one of these women who say I don’t care but I really do.  I just don’t.  (Now my husband knows he better go all out on Mother’s Day and my birthday – which he always does.  I mean, I had to work hard – TWICE – to earn my Mother’s Day Girl Scout badge.  And my birth-DAY usually turns into birth-WEEK, so I do have high expectations for those days.)   And no Hallmark card or box of Godiva chocolate is going to change the way I feel about Valentine’s Day.  My feeling is…get ready…Valentine’s Day is WAAAYYY overrated.

I’ve kicked Cupid to the curb.

cupid

So this goes out to all you single people who think all us married or dating people are going out and celebrating our love tonight thanks to reservations we made two months ago at the swankiest restaurant in town.  Not necessarily so.

There’s nothing wrong with celebrating Valentine’s Day (or Mother’s Day or your birthday) if that’s your thing.  But all too often we focus on one particular day and don’t really think about the days to come.  A husband takes his wife out for Valentine’s Day dinner but then ignores her emotional needs the very next day.  A bride focuses on the wedding day but then thinks about divorce when her husband loses his job and the bills are scattered on the floor unpaid.  A high school student commits her life to Jesus on a mountaintop then goes back to school spreading gossip about another teenager.

Yes, certain days are important.  Certain days are to be celebrated.  Certain days are life-changing.  But without a continuing effort to grow and nurture relationships these life-changing days become days we regret or days that are even forgotten.

So if you are in a relationship with another person, nurture it.  Don’t wait for Valentine’s Day to do something special – do something unexpected on March 8th, July 27th or November 1st.

And every person needs to nurture his or her relationship with Jesus.  Spend time reading your Bible.  Take time to pray, asking for your needs and listening for His guidance.  Spread His love through acts of kindness to others.

“May the Lord make your love increase and overflow for each other and for everyone else, just as ours does for you.”  (1 Thessalonians 4:12)

Enjoy today.  But on this Valentine’s Day – and every day – nurture your relationship with Jesus.  It is the most important relationship you will ever have.

Blessings for a wonderful weekend!  Spend it with the ones you love!
Leigh

One thought on “Valentine’s Day? So What?

  1. I couldn’t agree more. My hubby and I honor each other daily. We celebrate our love for each other and Christ’s love for us. Embracing and accepting the agape love God shows us is more humbling and valuable than any box of chocolates or candlelit dinner. Thanks for this post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

