I’m not ready

Those 3 little words come out of a woman’s mouth more frequently than a swarm of mosquitos on a humid southern day in Savannah.  Trying to get to church on time?  “I’m not ready.”  Going to see a 7:00 movie? “I’m not ready.”  Meeting a friend for lunch?  You get the picture.

And sometimes “I’m not ready” takes on a whole new meaning.  I can remember going into labor with my daughter.  I thought I was ready, but when that first labor pain hit me I realized oooohhhh, nooo I was NOT.  In fact, I told my husband I wasn’t ready and we WERE NOT going to the hospital.  Thankfully he ignored my ranting and got me there in the nick of time (she was born 3 hours later without the aid of an epidural).  I wasn’t ready, but it didn’t matter.  The future was coming whether I wanted it to or not.

Fast forward 18 years – and 18 years does go by fast, BTW – and I’m facing the day last fall I had to leave my daughter at college 5 hours away from home.  I wasn’t ready for that day either, but it came nonetheless.

photo

And I think of all my sweet friends with seniors in high school, not ready for the last time they play in a football game or for a basketball championship.  Not ready to hear them sing in the choir for the last time, cheer at a pep rally or dance at half time.  Not ready to watch them walk across the stage and receive that diploma.  Not ready for them to leave home and enter a whole new phase of life.

Life throws many days at you that you just aren’t ready for.  Sometimes you see them coming and you want to be prepared, but honestly there are some days you just can’t prepare for no matter how hard you try.  And then there are days you don’t see coming at all and have no way to be prepared for them.

And either way it’s OK when I’m not prepared because that’s where my faith takes over.  Faith that I can deliver a baby (and not lose my religion in the process.)  Faith that I can watch my children in their last high school competitions and not have a complete meltdown in front of everyone.  Faith that I can leave my child at college and trust Jesus to take care of her.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”  (Hebrews 11:1)

Many, many days I’ve said to Jesus, “I’m not ready.”  His reply?  “I know.  But I am.”

Thankfully I can always count on Jesus to be ready not matter what my day holds because He is always ready.  Trust Him with your day today, whether you are ready or not.

Blessings!
Leigh

2 thoughts on “I’m not ready

  1. Loved this! As a mother of a freshman and sophomore in college – I wasn’t ready for either of them to go but it was time. I find myself saying the same thing to the Lord when He wants me to do something but thankfully His timing is always perfect. Be blessed today and find a way to bless someone else.

Leave a Reply

