Danger Ahead

Pastor Robert Morris delivered a wonderful message entitled “Breaking the Spirit of Mammon” at church Sunday.  What is mammon you ask?  Mammon is the god of riches.  It’s the love of money.  The world loves mammon and will tell you that money will solve all your problems when in reality it just won’t.

So after the message I was feeling pretty good about our family’s stance on mammon.  Tithing? Check.  Offerings? Check.  Debt? None (except our house). And on and on down the financial checklist I created in my head.

I wish I had heard this in my head instead:  DANGER! WARNING! TROUBLE AHEAD!

 danger_keep_out_sign

Because just when I think I’ve got it going on in a certain area, that’s when the enemy likes to sneak his way into my thoughts like the one or two gray strands that sneak into my every-6-weeks-color-treated-hair (come on, ladies… you know what I’m saying…).

And this is what it sounded like in my head:  “Stay on top of your budget.  Don’t spend too much this month.  You need to save more.”  None of those statements sound bad.  Yet lying underneath those statements is an effort on the part of the enemy to break the trust I have with God in this area.  And if I break my trust with my provider, I rely more and more on me – who, I’ve learned over the years, doesn’t actually have all the answers.  (Gosh that’s so hard for a Type A, OCD planner to admit!)

What little lies is the enemy propagating in your head?  You better start recognizing them when they first hit you because if you don’t they will turn into full-fledged anxieties, stresses and labels, “for Satan himself masquerades as an angel of light.” (2 Corinthians 11:14).  “Stay on top of your budget” can turn into “You can’t really handle money” which then labels me as a “Mismanager of Money.”  Cause that’s how the enemy gets you – one little lie at a time.

My personal example this week is money.  Satan knows it’s my weak spot (I’ve got a child in college – out of state college, for heaven’s sake) and will exploit my weakness any way he can.  What’s your weakness?  If you feel led, please share – your story may help someone else.

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’  Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”  (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)

Let Jesus use your weakness to make you strong.

Blessings for a wonderful weekend!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

