Today I will…

This weekend my husband and I attended our church’s marriage conference, Ignite 2014.  The guest speaker was Pastor Joe McGee, and can I just say, I wasn’t quite ready for him.  He spoke with a true southern drawl which you would think would be slow and deliberate, but it wasn’t.  He was the fastest talking southern man I’ve ever heard. And if you weren’t focused you would miss a nugget he would drop and taking notes reminded me of trying to keep up with my 12th grade biology teacher.  And, much like my biology teacher, absolutely no subject was off limits (it was a marriage conference, for heaven’s sake).

So many nuggets to share… but there’s one that applies to everyone, no matter your age, no matter if you are married or not.  Now picture a fast-talking large southern gentleman with a loud booming voice saying this:

When people ask you what you are doing today, tell them, “Oh I’m getting up and stormin’ the gates of hell.  Yep, I get up evry mornin’ and look for some hell to storm…It’s what I do…I look for problems and I fix ‘em… It’s what I do…”

armor

I laughed and laughed at that (OK, so maybe you had to be there) but his point was this – the devil should be panicked every time you wake up.  The enemy should say, “Dear God… she’s awake again…,” because he knows every time you get up you are going to go look for a problem to solve, a person that you can help, a need that you can meet.  You are going to get up, go storm the gates of hell and force him to retreat out of someone’s life.

Jesus is our example for life.  He set the example of serving, as written in the book of Matthew:  “…just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve…”  (Matthew 20:28)  And what is the result of serving?  “Those who have served well gain an excellent standing and great assurance in their faith for Christ Jesus.”  (1 Timothy 3:13)

Well sign me up for some excellent standing and great assurance in my faith in Jesus!  So that’s what I’m going to do today and every day – I’m going to put on the full armor of God and go storm some gates of hell and fix problems.  I’m going to freak the enemy out so much he has to retreat from my circle of influence.  Why?  Because it’s what Jesus did.

Lord, make me more like you.  Every single day.

Blessings!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

