The Transition

Last Tuesday was the final basketball game of the season.  Now some people may be celebrating the fact that they aren’t driving up and down I-85 two or three times a week while eating unhealthy meals from Chick-Fil-A, Wendy’s and Mickey D’s, (yes I know they all have healthy choices but who wants a salad when you can have french fries?) but I’m a little out of sorts.

Just call me sports momma for a minute.  I enjoy watching my children compete in whatever sport they choose (and yes, people cheerleading IS A SPORT).  But it’s more than that.  When your child is on a team you typically get to know the other parents quite well because like I said – you are spending 2 or 3 nights a week with them.  They become your social network for a season as you share and rehash the games on the schedule.

And then all of a sudden the season is over and that door slams shut with a loud WHAM.  It’s not that I can’t continue to socialize with these friends – it’s that new sports take over and we are now going in different directions, the convenient social gathering of the various gyms no longer on our weekly schedule.

door

Now if you move from basketball to baseball, not a whole lot changes because you’ve got multiple games in a week.  But for me, basketball to golf – well that’s a whole different story.  My days are now WIDE OPEN – no social gathering on the golf course.  And if we did gather, we’d have to talk in a hushed voice so as not to disturb a player in their backswing… which is not exactly conducive to my social butterfly personality…

So my question this week has been, “What do I do with all this time, Lord?”  I mean, I could surf FB for hours on end, catch up on every little bit of laundry and ironing I have piled up and clean out every closet in the house.  (Which if you read my earlier post Hidden Treasures you know I’ve already started that activity.)  But what is the best use of my time?

I’m waiting on my answer from Jesus as to what to do with all this time because I can never get it back and I want to make the most of whatever time I have.  And quite frankly, I don’t sit well.  I’m used to being busy and on the go.  But we all go through different seasons in life, and this may be the one where I am to “Be still and know that I am God.”  (Psalm 46:10)  So for all you on-the-go-type-A people like me, don’t resist a season of rest – relish it.

Blessings!
Leigh

Leave a Reply

