While You Were Out

If you’re an old school TLC viewer you will remember the show While You Were Out.  The premise for that show is that a crew of designers and workmen come in and totally transform one room in a person’s home – without them knowing they are coming.  A friend or a family member would get them to leave for the weekend, then voila!  The decorator fairies come in and do their thing, giving that person a totally new bedroom or kitchen while they were out.

My husband’s birthday is today.  And he never asks for anything – NEVER.  But he happened to mention back in January he wish he had a “cool office” with a “big desk.”  Let’s just say the light bulb flicked on in my head and I knew exactly what I was going to give him for his birthday – a new office.

I have a fantastic builder who can build anything to my specifications – my dad. (I literally wouldn’t have half the furniture in my house if he didn’t build it.)  So he’s been busy building a desk and credenza while I have been plotting, planning, buying and donating all the old stuff.  Over this last weekend we took everything out of his office and replaced it with all new furnishings.  A complete While You Were Out real life episode, minus the film crew.

So there I was, cleaning out his office.  I was dusting, vacuuming, getting into the corners and scrubbing baseboards so that it would be all clean, fresh and new for him.

photo

And that got me thinking about how Jesus gives us a fresh start every single day.

Without constant attention our spirits can become cluttered and dusty.  We pretend like we don’t have a cobweb in the corner while it sits there, needing to be swept away.  We have issues that pile up like unfiled papers until we can’t see what’s in front of us.  But that’s where Jesus comes in.   With His help we can sweep out the corners of our spirits and deal with our issues. Jesus brings a fresh start to each day out of the forgiveness He offers through the cross.  No matter how dirty or cluttered our lives are, we can start each morning new with the help of our Savior.

“I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols.  I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you… I will save you from all your uncleanness.”  (Ezekiel 36:25, 26, 29)

Take some time today to ask Jesus to help you uncover the hidden cobwebs and dirty corners that need cleaning.  Repent.  Then rejoice in the fact that you can be made new every single day through the forgiveness of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

