The Stack of Papers

Yesterday I wrote about how I surprised my husband with a whole new office while he was away for work over the weekend.  Part of that transformation required me to clean out the 2 desks that were in his office.

Geez, Louise.  I love my husband – I really, REALLY do.  But if I ever wondered where my children get the pack rat gene from, I wonder no more.  Old bank statements, unframed pictures, a jar of Nutella… you get the picture.  And before you think I’m being mean I’m not.  It’s a running joke with us – he would tell you that he knew exactly what was in those drawers and where it was.  But I didn’t fall off the turnip truck yesterday…

 desk

(That’s not my husband’s desk.  It wasn’t nearly that bad.
But at the time I was cleaning it out it sort of felt like that in my head.)

While I was cleaning out his desk I realized his most important papers, the ones he deals with the most, were on top of other things in his drawers.  Below those were other papers that needed to be dealt with but they were out of sight, out of mind.  And then there were those that weren’t relevant anymore and just needed to be thrown away.

Our spiritual lives are organized in much the same way.  On the top are the issues we deal with the most – the sins we know we need to work on – and do. They are the ones that have been most recently brought to mind by the Holy Spirit working in us.  Underneath those are issues we dealt with at one time but could resurface at any point, so we can’t file those away completely.  And then we have the ones that need to be tossed out – the issues we have dealt with, received forgiveness for and have no power over us because of the power of our Savior.

“How much more, then, will the blood of Christ who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God!” (Hebrews 9:14)

Our lives will always be a mixture of papers because we will never be totally sanctified until we reach heaven.  But in the meantime we need to open the drawer every day and deal with those issues that need to be dealt with and for goodness sake through out the ones that no longer have power over us so that we may go serve the living God.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “The Stack of Papers

Leave a Reply

