Joy, Joy, JOY!

So Monday I had a Monday.  You know, the kind of Monday where I ran around like a chicken with my head cut off (an image that greatly disturbed me as a child).  A Monday that took a totally different path than what I had planned for the day.  A Monday that by the end of the day all I wanted to do is fall into my bed and sleep for a solid 24 hours (well, with my inability to sleep I’d take an uninterrupted 6 or 7).

Monday

Now in the past a day full of interruptions, twists, turns and people totally messing up my plans would have caused me to come undone.  Come undone as in fussing, cussing, freaking out and just generally having a bad day.  Blaming everyone for being so stupid and not cooperating with my game plan.

But thankfully, “if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”  (2 Corinthians 5:17)

So when the college student bringing my custom ordered sketch I ordered from an out of town artist was late meeting me – joy.

When I opened up the sketch and it looked like my son was on a date with an unknown girl instead of standing next to his sister – peace.

When I missed the UPS truck with an important package for the 2nd time – calm.

When I tracked the UPS driver down at a QV station and stalked her while she was getting coffee so that I could get my package – patience.

You get the idea.  Nothing that day – truly NOTHING was going the way I thought it should.  But ultimately God is in control of my day and I tried to be a blessing to the late college student, the talented sketch artist and the missing UPS driver.  My whole attitude was different because my whole perspective is so different.

The more time I spend with Jesus the more I grow in the fruits of the spirit.  “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.”  (Galatians 5:22) I’m not there yet, but at least I’m making progress.  And that’s what my faith walk is all about – taking one step at a time closer to Christ.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

