Good Morning!

Friday night I was so excited – almost giddy.  I was happy as a pig in slop because the next day was Saturday.  And I was going to sleep in.  Sleep late.  Like maybe 7:30 or 8:00 late.  (Yeah, I know what you are thinking – but when you are in your 40’s it is amazing what gets you fired up.)  I turned off the alarm, closed my drapes with black-out lining tightly so that no crack of sunlight would filter through them and turned on my fan to high so that I wouldn’t hear my dog snoring in the next room. I snuggled down in my bed, and fell right asleep.

5:30 a.m.  BAM!

No, no, no… At first I didn’t let it get to me.  I calmly repeated a soothing mantra of “I will go back to sleep.  I will go back to sleep.”  But after 2 or 3 minutes of that my cadence picked up a little steam.  By 6:00 it sounded more like “I WILL GO BACK TO SLEEP AND I’M GOING BACK TO SLEEP RIGHT NOW!”

That worked really well.

And as I lay there wondering what in the tarnation (definition of tarnation: a southern curse word used for emphasis) is going on and why in the Sam Hill (my grandmother used to say that – I never found out where Sam Hill was or it’s historical significance) I was awake at 5:30 a.m. on a Saturday I felt it.  I felt a strong presence in my room, one I couldn’t escape.

No, it wasn’t the presence of God.  It was my cat staring me into a state of full alertness.  If she were a cartoon character the bubble above her head would have read, “Get your lazy rear end out of the bed and feed me.  I don’t care what day of the week it is.”

cat

Heavy sigh.

And as I started writing this at 6:45 on that Saturday, I had to laugh as this verse came to mind:  “In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.”  (Proverbs 16:9)  I had planned on sleeping in, but the Lord had other plans for me.  And as always, His plan is so much better.  I had several hours of complete quiet and stillness to write, worship and pray.  What a great way to start my Saturday!  So go ahead and make your plans, but don’t be surprised when God takes you on a little detour.  If you are truly seeking His will for your life a deviation from your plan will be seen as a blessing, not a curse.

(FYI – as I wrote this I  PLANNED on taking a fantastically long nap that afternoon. I’ll let you guess what happened…)

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

