Be Who You Are

This morning I was being very still and quiet, asking God to speak to me and reveal whatever He wanted me to hear.  And I heard these words spoken very softly to my spirit:

Be who you are.

OK, I have to admit I was a little confused on that one.  Was I trying to be someone else?  If I was who was it? What in the world was that all about?

Then the Holy Spirit brought the story of Joseph to mind.  (Joseph’s story starts in Genesis 37)  Joseph was the youngest son of Jacob and let’s just say he had “the baby syndrome,” as in Jacob loved him more than his other sons because Joseph was the baby of the family.

That didn’t sit so well with the brothers.  They hated him.  And when Joseph shared his dreams with his brothers, they REALLY hated him because in every dream Joseph had visions of his brothers bowing down and worshipping him. And no self-respecting older brother would bow down to a younger brother that back in those days.

So the brothers sold him into slavery.  But guess what?  The pharaoh took a liking to Joseph because he was smart and full of wisdom.  He could interpret the pharaoh’s dreams, which was a big deal back in the day.  “So Pharaoh said to Joseph, ‘I hereby put you in charge of the whole land of Egypt.’” (Genesis 41:41)

Whoa now.  That’s a pretty big jump from slavery to ruling all of Egypt.  But it happened.  And because of a famine his brothers did have to come and beg for food from him – yep they ultimately had to bow down to their youngest brother.

Joseph

No matter what Joseph’s brothers did to him and no matter how hard they tried to destroy him God had a different plan for Joseph – a plan to be who God meant for him to be, not what others wanted him to be.

Too often we let other people, our circumstances, life in general beat us down and totally derail us from who God plans us to be.  If God can take a slave and make him a ruler don’t you think He can make you who you were always meant to be?

“For the Scripture says to Pharaoh: ‘I raised you up for this very purpose, that I might display my power in you and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.’” (Romans 9:17)

There’s only one you and God created you for a purpose.

Be who you are.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

