The Boy in the Bubble

I am constantly asking Jesus for protection and safety.  I have a husband who travels for work, one child in college 5 hours away (and on Spring Break this week – that will keep me on my knees), and a son who is a few months away from driving.  So I feel like I am always whispering, “Keep him safe” or “Protect her today.”

And for some reason when I pray for protection I get a mental picture of my husband’s SUV, my child’s car or my son surrounded by a huge bubble.  You know, the kind of bubble you blew out of a wand as a child.  A big, soapy, pretty, perfectly round bubble of protection.  If you have the Wii Fit game you know exactly what this looks like:

 Bubble

Call me crazy but that’s what I see when I pray for protection.

But unlike soap bubbles, my pretend bubbles of protection cannot be popped.  Nothing can penetrate my bubbles and hurt my family.  I trust Jesus to create that bubble of safety Himself and then pray that any crazy driver or nutty person out there will bounce backwards like a bumper car you drive at Disney World if they get too close.

When I feel anxious about the safety of someone I love, these words God spoke to Moses calms my anxiety: “See, I am sending an angel ahead of you go guard you along the way and to bring you to the place I have prepared.” (Exodus 23:20) God Himself has appointed an angel to go before my family and to bring them to the place He has prepared.

I also find comfort in these words from Joshua.  Towards the end of his life Joshua was reminding the Israelites of God’s faithfulness when he said, “It was the Lord our God himself who brought us and our fathers up out of Egypt, from that land of slavery, and performed those great signs before our eyes. He protected us on our entire journey. (Joshua 24:17)

Yes I know accidents happen.  But I believe that prayer is very powerful and I’d rather my family have a prayer of protection every day than not.  So I’ll keep praying for a bubble of protection to surround my family every day, trusting Jesus to bring them to the perfect place He has prepared for them. (Yeah, I know it’s a silly visual.  You can either use it your get your own.)

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

