A Simple Act of Service

I have an addiction.  Actually I have two.  Coffee and dark chocolate (although I don’t combine the two – EVER – or I’d look like the Duck Dynasty crew the episode where they drank 3 shots of straight Espresso and were LITERALLY bouncing off the walls).

Now I may run out of milk, orange juice, bread, butter or any other food staple you can think of but be sure I will ALWAYS have coffee and french vanilla creamer (the real stuff, not that fat-free version or a powder for heaven’s sake) in my house.

And my sweet husband of almost 25 years brings me my coffee every morning when we are getting up at the same time.  Every. Single. Morning.

Coffee

Trust me, mornings have broken where he didn’t want to bring me my cup of instant happiness, my liquid manna that gets me going each day.  Mornings after a night where we disagreed about something, falling asleep without resolving it.

But he never waivers from bringing me my coffee.  Most mornings that simple act of service reminds me of how much he loves me, how he thinks of what I want before he thinks of what he wants.  But after a bad night it can break through whatever ridiculous wall I have built up over something really stupid and soften my heart. It’s hard to stay mad or upset when someone does something nice for you.

And it may be one simple act of service, but over 24 ¾ years it has created a massive cumulative effect in my heart.

What small act of service can you do to brighten someone’s day today?  Better yet, what can you do every single day that will remind them of your love for them, even when you don’t feel like doing it?

“Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men, because you know that the Lord will reward everyone for whatever good he does…” (Ephesians 6:7-8)

Blessings!

Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

 

Leave a Reply

