To work or not to work?

I’ve had a job almost every year since high school.  I’ve worked in a drug store, an ice cream shop, and a law office.  I’ve sold computers and computer software training.  I’ve been a software instructor, a scheduler and a training manager.  I’ve owned my own business, worked retail, and been a communications director.  I like to work.  I like being busy, I like meeting people and yes, I enjoy a paycheck.

My last job was part owner of a retail store.  At the end of my daughter’s junior year in high school I sold my part of the store, and it was perfect timing as it enabled me to enjoy her senior year and help get her ready to go to college.  I figured after she was engrossed in her first semester I would go back to work.  That was my plan.

Mug

Once we moved her to college I began asking God to show me what He wanted me to do.  Wondering what job He had for me next.  I looked into a few, researched some, but each time I was about to apply I stopped.  Something just kept me from taking the next step in my job search.  But what was it?

The enemy told me lies about why I wasn’t working:  “You don’t really want to work.  You like your easy lifestyle.  You are being lazy.  You need to contribute financially.  You just want to play tennis everyday.” (OK, so that last one might have some truth to it…)  And on, and on – he whispered lies in my head for months.

Then one morning in January as I was asking God for the one hundred and fifty-eighth time what job I should be doing, I heard Him say to me, “Love your family.”

Huh?  Well of course I love my family.  What in the world did God mean by that?

Very clearly He shared with me this is not the season for work outside my home, it’s the season for work inside my home.  And I need to stop being discontented when He clearly wants me exactly where He has put me today.

In a letter to Timothy, the Apostle Paul wrote, “But godliness with contentment is great gain.”  (1 Timothy 6:6)  He was referring to the financial gain, but I think that sentence rings true for so many other areas.  If we can only learn to be content where God has us today instead of worrying about where we think God should put us the “great gain” of peace will truly rule our hearts.

Godliness with contentment is great gain.  Or as we say in the south, “Grow where you’re planted, sugar.”

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

 

Leave a Reply

