I’m not religious

When people say, “She’s so religious” what does that mean?  Does it mean I follow a bunch of Christian rules or I talk about Jesus too much around other people?  That I go to church Sunday and small group on Monday?  That I’m trying to raise my children with Biblical principles?

Now I don’t think people mean harm by that statement – at least not always.  Most of the time it is probably meant as a compliment.  But there’s something about that phrase that makes me fidget in my church pew.

Say I love Jesus, I serve Him, I worship Him.  Say anything except I’m “religious” because it makes me feel like I should be memorizing scripture in Hebrew, Greek, the NIV, the King James AND The Message version of the Bible while I’m listing my sins in alphabetical, date and frequency order.  It makes me feel like I’m connected to Jesus by words and rules, not love and devotion.

Bibles

 “I’ve loved you the way my Father has loved me.  Make yourselves at home in my love.  If you keep my commands, you’ll remain intimately at home in my love.  That’s what I’ve done – kept my Father’s commands and made myself at home in his love.”  (Matthew 15:9-10, The Message)

That’s my goal – to rest in Jesus’ love, not a list of rules.  I don’t ever want to be known for my religion – I want to be known for using the gifts God has blessed me with for His glory.  Maybe being “religious” is one in the same to a lot of people, but to me, it’s very different.  What’s your opinion?

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

 

Leave a Reply

