The smartest pets on the planet

A little humor for your Friday…

My pets are smart.  REALLY smart.

Lucy

OK, so maybe they don’t look that smart in the picture.  But here’s some proof:  I’m often in my home office around 4:00 paying bills (oh, the joy), writing my blog (way more fun) or something like that.  Around 4:30 or so my cat Sweetie will make her first appearance, sent in by her partner in crime, Lucy my dog.

Their tummies tell them it’s feeding time – or at least it’s close to feeding time.  And Sweetie will meow, scratch a basket with her no-claws, chew my plant or try anything else she knows I find annoying to get me out of my chair and to open the magical food dispenser.  When I finally arise and walk around the corner there’s Lucy the dog staring me down with her laser-shooting eyeballs, kept out of my office by the indoor electric fence (best $100 I EVER spent, BTW).  They circle around me like two bull sharks in a sea of chum and then start the “happy pet” dance (literally – Lucy runs around the table in circles until I feed her) and practically knock me down they get so excited.  Lucy and Sweetie team up on a daily basis to reach their goal:  two bowls of the same exact boring food they get day after day after day.

To further prove how smart they are, get this: one time when we were out of town Sweetie told Lucy that the stack of cans on the kitchen table had real pet food in them – she could see the picture of a cat on the label, so in her kitty brain 2+2=….  well, you get the picture.  Anyway, Lucy knocked the cans off the table with her super sniffer and then preceded to chew through the can, eat the food, share some of the food with Sweetie, then eat some of the can for dessert…

So I have the smartest pets on the planet (and one with a cast iron stomach).  But by now you’re now wondering how in the world I’m going to relate this to Scripture…

It’s fairly easy.  My pets have learned you accomplish way more in life with a friend. 

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work; If one falls down, his friend can help him up.  But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!  Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves.  A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”  (Ecclesiastes 4:9, 10, 12)

We are not meant to go through this life alone.  All throughout the Bible we find Scripture encouraging us to have someone along side us.  It doesn’t have to be a spouse – it can be another relative or a friend (Moses & Aaron, Paul & Timothy, etc.).  Having a person you trust go through life with you is crucial to helping you grow your spirit, manage life’s storms and enjoy its blessings.

If you don’t have that person in your life ask God for that special blessing.  “Ask and it will be given you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”  (Matthew 7:7-8)

Two are truly better than one!

Blessings for a wonderful weekend!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “The smartest pets on the planet

  1. Pingback: My Yellow Lab | Christian Momma Meditations

Leave a Reply

