Halfway There

This morning I had a motivating thought.  I’ve clearly lived over half the life I’ve been given.  Heck, I may have lived 99% of it because I could go on in to glory today.  You might think that’s depressing, but to me it was motivating.

So I’ve lived over half my life and wasted about 1/3 of it actin’ afool.  You know the years to which I’m referring.  My personal craziness started at 18 and lasted a good 15 years or so.  Sure, I went to church, had my children baptized and all, but good grief – by my words and actions you’d never know I was a Christian.

The world can pull you down so far, so fast.  But thankfully I tapped into that little voice that longed for something more than this world had to offer.

And it’s been a slow process.  You don’t make the championship game (I have Florida winning it all in my March Madness bracket, BTW) without dedicating yourself to that goal. In my youth (it’s funny how now my 20’s are now considered my “youth”) my goal was worldly, no heavenly goal in sight.

Perhaps I needed maturity, perspective.  When I was 18 it was all about me (shocker).  And it remained all about me until I started to peel back the oniony layers of my life and discover Jesus has so much more planned for me, so much forgiveness available for me, so many blessings waiting for me…

ogre

So I’m clearly motivated.  Whatever time I have left will be spent getting to know Jesus more so that I can hopefully reflect Him in every day situations so that anyone who doesn’t know Him will want to know Him. Period.

In my years as Crazy Phyllis (yes, I actually gave a name to my other personality), passages of Scripture such as these used to make me feel unworthy:

“I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received…” (Ephesians 4:1)

“Be very careful, then, how you live – not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity…” (Ephesians 5:15-16)

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart…It is the Lord Christ you are serving…” (Colossians 3:23,24)

But now they motivate and encourage me to continue my walk of faith, one step at a time.

How are you going to spend the time you have left here on earth?  How will you spend today?

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

2 thoughts on “Halfway There

  1. You never cease to AMAZE me, Girl!!! And I LOVE IT! Such a blessing!!! “Words” are the “part” you have been given! You can agree to say along with me: Concerning writing….”MY PURPOSE is to share the PART I have been given…with as MANY as I can…in the TIME I have left!!!” WORDS are like SEEDS that BURN within us…and we just HAVE TO…GET THM OUT!!! Thank GOD for the INTERNET!! A GREAT WAY to sow them to the world!!! Love you, Leigh!! And I appreciate your GIFT!!

    • Thank you so much – you are such an encouragement to me! Just keep praying for God to empty me out and fill me with His words so that I can be an encouragement to others. To God be the glory!

Leave a Reply

