Not Me

Some days I wish I wasn’t so much like me, that I was more like someone else. I wish I could just go exercise and leave all the dishes in the sink and not care.  I wish I could take eggs randomly out of the carton without making the empty spaces even on both sides.  I wish I could throw clean towels on a bed and leave them unfolded for a few days…

I wish I could sit back and take in the beauty of a cardinal outside my window instead of running my grocery list in my head (did I cut out all my coupons?). I wish I could get lost in a cheesy movie on a Sunday afternoon instead of rehearsing my schedule for the week. I wish I could scribble a list on scrap paper instead of neatly writing with my favorite pen on a pretty notepad…

Image

Then I snap back to reality – who am I kidding? Without OCD people like me how would anything ever get done?  I mean, all you free-spirited, beauty-loving, spontaneous people would just let the world fall apart all around you and not even care while singing kumbaya, wouldn’t you?

I’m kidding, of course.  God’s mastery is evident in every single person. No two people are the same – and He did that for a reason.  If God had wanted everyone to be a list maker or a painter or a teacher He would have made one DNA, one personality.  But God loves both the subtle and the obvious differences in each of us, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.   I praise you because I am fearfully an wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” (Psalm 139:13-14)

God created you, He knit you together Himself. He doesn’t make mistakes and He doesn’t want you to be someone else.  His works are wonderful – YOU are wonderful.  So today celebrate your uniqueness and quit contemplating what life would be like if you could only be more like…….

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

