Taking The Day Off? Not TODAY!!!

Last weekend I gave my husband a surprise birthday weekend extravaganza. His family and I had been planning this upcoming shindig for almost 3 months. And can I just say when you’re a southern momma who likes to talk as much as I do it’s REAL hard to hold that secret for 77 solid days (yep, that’s 11 weeks, people).

His sisters avoided his phone calls. His parents worried they had said something to tip him off. I skipped staying at The Grand Hotel at Point Clear the weekend before with him to get everything ready. (You would think that alone would have alerted him something was goin’ on…)

And so FINALLY 1,848 hours after the plan was hatched the weekend was just one day away. Thursday afternoon I’m busy planning in my head all the last minute to-do’s and then I get the text that strikes fear in the heart of every surprise party-giver:

“Taking tomorrow off”

SERIOUSLY? He decides to take off the Friday before the weekend when his entire family is coming into town to surprise him? For the love of all that is good and kind…

Now you have to know my husband to appreciate that little text. He RARELY (meaning I can count on 1 hand how many days off he’s taken in 20 years) takes a day off after working 7 straight days. So Friday I just had to suck it up and patiently decline as he asked me to work out with him, go out to lunch with him, etc, etc. (Would he just GET OUT of the house and let me do my thing?) And if all that wasn’t bad enough at one point on Friday he looked at me and said, “I think I’ll clean out my closet.”

Well mister that’s where I draw the line. There would be no cleaning out of any closet when I’ve worked to hide all sorts of stuff in closets.

But I digress. My husband was finally taking a day off – a Sabbath.   In a recent message Pastor Chris Hodges talked about the importance of keeping the Sabbath holy. Why are we so stressed and tired and snappy? Because we just don’t take the time to slow down and reconnect with God. We push and push and go and go until there’s no water left in our well. And God never wants us to be in a constant state of crazy.

Matthew 11:28 says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” If you are in a constant state of crazy, you need to take that promise to heart.

And if you aren’t in the habit of taking a day off from your normal routine and reconnecting with God, give it a try. A great surprise will be waiting for you when you do!

Here’s the link to the message referenced above:

Breaking the Rules (Part 3)

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “Taking The Day Off? Not TODAY!!!

Leave a Reply

