The Jar of Joy

Now that spring is here I keep my pantry and my fridge stocked.  Yes, I do have junk food, so don’t go all organic, no-processed on me.  (We do eat mostly healthy – refer to yesterday’s post on my abstaining from fried chicken).

This time of year my house seems to be the landing spot for my son’s friends, and I love it.  I figure the more food I have, the more they’ll come around.  And I know one likes Yoplait strawberry yogurt (see? There’s a healthy choice), one wants Little Debbie Cosmic Brownies and another chips and Target salsa (yep – Target brand salsa.  Who knew?).

But there’s one thing I keep stocked all year long and am well known for – the never ending jar of M&M’s.

Jar

Regular, dark chocolate, peanut, mint, peanut butter – I buy bags & bags (usually after holidays when they are on sale, thus all the red & green ones in you see now even though it’s April) to keep the jar full.  (The only ones I won’t by are the pretzel M&M’s.  Those are just gross.)  Older friends of my daughter’s still talk about it and take a few when they visit. (OK, I admit I also grab a handful more times than I should.)

So I’m well known in the teen world for that jar.  But I also want to be known as someone who used the talents God blessed her with to share Christ and bring a little joy and happiness to others along the way.

What gifts do you have?  And yes, you do have them (you just might not be aware of what they are).  We read this truth in Romans 12:6, “We have different gifts, according to the grace given us” and again in 1 Corinthians 7:7, “But each man has his own gift from God; one has this gift, another has that.”

If you’re not sure what your gifts are, spend some time in prayer asking God to reveal them to you AND how you can use them for His kingdom.

Every person alive has gifts from God – the difference is how you use them.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

 

Leave a Reply

