Goin’ all PCB

Today I look outside and am watching an all out raining cats, dogs and every other animal event.  Flash flood warnings and tornado watches are making my phone sound off like a teenage girl’s text messaging machine.  But last Wednesday was just about perfect in Auburn, Alabama. Temperature in the 70’s, sun was out, a few clouds passing by overhead – so I decided to sit on my deck and catch up on some writing.

Now my neighbors aren’t right up on me – I have a little space. I have a decent amount of privacy. So I decided since the weather was going to take a nasty turn the next day (like it is today) I would sit outside – redneck style.

I had played tennis earlier, so I kept my tennis skirt on. Found my flip-flops and then put on a tank top instead of my matching tennis top. I laughed at myself in the mirror because I had gone all out PCB for the afternoon (For all you above the Mason-Dixon Line, PCB = Panama City Beach. The Redneck Riviera). Yep, I was going to get a little early spring sun on my shoulders and was not concerned at all what I looked like.

Until I got up to refresh my Diet Coke.

That’s when I turned around to see what was rustling behind me and realized it was a guy from my neighbor’s yard service trimming, weed-whacking – whatever he was doing in their yard. I froze, hoping he wouldn’t see me. (Remember the scene in Jurassic Park with the T-rex? “Keep absolutely still. His vision is based on movement. He can’t see you if you don’t move.”)

Jurassic park

Too late. I gave that guy a visual I’m sure he’d rather forget.

Sometimes we do things we’d like to get away with, things we’d like to keep secret. But Romans chapter 2 gives us a lot of information on secrets. Both “…God will judge men’s secrets through Jesus Christ…” (v. 16) and “God will give to each person according to what he has done…” (v. 6) can sound a little (or a lot) scary. It doesn’t matter if another living soul on this earth knows your secrets – God knows them all.

But there’s good news for those who have messed up and have secrets (yes, people – that’s all of us). “If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:8-9)

The first step to experience true forgiveness is admitting you messed up, which let’s face it – is a rare quality in the people of today’s world. It’s always someone else’s fault, isn’t it? Gosh its so dang refreshing when someone actually says, “I was wrong.”

Jesus has the power to wipe away your sins, but only if you confess them and ask for forgiveness. Stop living all bound up by your past mistakes and enjoy the peace and freedom that true forgiveness brings.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

 

Leave a Reply

