Stupid Driving Moves

Some of you may remember I was in a pretty serious car accident last fall.  A college student ran a red light and I ran into the side of his car, totaling both cars.  Thankfully no one was injured, but now I get real fired up when I see people making stupid driving decisions.

 Wrecked Car

And when you live in a college town, that’s daily, if not multiple times during the day.

So Tuesday I was in the left turn lane, two cars behind me.  When my light turned yellow I didn’t turn left, because I’m not going to cause an accident if I can help it.  So as the light is turning red I see the car second in line behind me race up to my LEFT (which yes, that would be into oncoming traffic if anyone had run the yellow light coming in the opposite direction) and turn left as I can see the light is now clearly red.

I FREAKED!!!  OH MY GOSH!!!  I was going nuts in my car dog-cussing that college kid for nearly causing a wreck.  And where in the world was the police when you need them?  Good gravy – was I going to have to chase down that 19 year old sniveling idiot myself and give her a piece of my mind??? (Oh, do not tempt me…)  The only thing that stopped me was a red light – and a little wisdom that comes with age not to run it.

But then I read this passage today:  “Since prayer is at the bottom of all this, what I (Paul) want mostly is for men to pray – not shaking angry fists at enemies but raising holy hands to God.”  (1 Timothy 2:8,9 The Message)

I should have been praying for that college kid, not fantasizing about running her down and giving her an old-fashioned southern momma lecture on her deplorable driving skills.  She could have been late for class or work or trying to get home because she was sick.  (At least I can tell myself those things to make praying for her a little easier.)  I should have prayed that she not cause an accident but that she realize her life is more important than any place she was going.   I should have prayed for her safety so that her parents would never have to answer the dreaded phone call from a police officer saying their child had been in an accident.

I should have prayed first.  “The first thing I want you to do is pray.  Pray every way you know how, for everyone you know.”  (1 Timothy 2:1, The Message)  So it’s a little after the fact, but today I prayed for the sweet little sorority girl in the grey BMW with a Georgia license plate just as I hope some momma in Oxford prays for my sorority girl in her blue Maxima with an Alabama license plate.

Pray first.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

2 thoughts on “Stupid Driving Moves

  1. Oh how I needed this. The road is a dangerous place for Christians! Not because of what others can do to us (although that’s part of it!), but because of how we seem to lock our faith in the trunk as soon as we get behind the wheel. I love that verse in The Message version. It really shows the heart of this situation. Thanks for sharing this today!

Leave a Reply

