What a Gift!

What a Treat!

Last night I tweeted this picture out with the caption, “I don’t go out much, but when I do…”

photo

I was treated to a wonderful evening at Auburn University’s 2014 Hospitality Gala.  The food was different and delicious.  The friends were new and entertaining.  The auction was entertaining and successful.

And the best part?  I was treated to the evening by someone I knew but hadn’t seen in quite awhile.  The evening was her gift to the people at her table, complete with a limo ride to the event.  (BTW, I thoroughly enjoyed watching people trying to see who the celebrities were in the limo as we pulled up… Sorry, it was just us normal, everyday, run of the mill people…)

Like I said, I don’t get out much.  I try to only put on make up 3 out of 7 days of the week – less if possible.  (I’d skip it all together if I could, but I’m afraid I’d scare the dickens out of small children if I showed up at church unmade…)

But back to the treat part.  When someone does something for me that I could never repay I feel thankful, grateful, joyful.  And guess what?  The giver feels that way as well.  It is so fun to me to pay for the person’s meal behind me in a drive-thru line or hear about a friend taking a cupcake to a teacher at school on a random Tuesday.  “You will be made rich in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion…” (2 Corinthians 9:11)

And a true gift is given without the hope or expectation to ever be repaid.

God gave the ultimate gift to all of humanity many, many years ago.  His greatest gift to us was His Son hanging on a cross, taking away every sin you and I ever committed or will commit.  No greater gift has ever been given, and we receive it freely, no payback necessary.

As we approach Holy Week, let us focus on the greatest gift of all.  Jesus.  “Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!” (2 Corinthians 9:15)

Blessings for a beautiful weekend!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

