Moving Forward

I stood in her room, alone.  She’s here for a few short days then gone for a few long weeks back to college – again.

So I stood in her room, alone.

Back in the fall these times in her room were typically accompanied by some tears, and an enormous feeling of loss.  It’s how I imagine I would feel if a surgeon removed a vital part of my anatomy, like a hand.  Or my ear.   Or my entire abdomen region.

 Surgeon

Because when you have a family, it just doesn’t feel right when one isn’t where she’s supposed to be.  And it doesn’t matter if you’re single, married or have children.  When someone you love is “missing” from the picture you have two choices:  live stuck in the past wishing for days gone by or appreciate the past & look forward to the future.

So today as I stood in her room, alone, I thanked God for all the fun we had together as a family over Easter weekend.  I prayed for her safety going back to school.  I smiled as I thought about her watching 5 Disney movies over the weekend while snuggling with her kitty.

I took a minute to appreciate the past but not get stuck there.  No laying on the floor, crying so hard that tears, drool and such would run down my face and get wiped away by my sleeve (something my son would have done around age 7).  No wishing I was younger, that she was younger, that we were all about 10 years younger…

Jeremiah 29:11 says, “’For I know the plans I have for you’, declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.’”

The more I seek Jesus, the more I rest in the assurance of His plans for me and for my family.  And I’m not talking prosperity gospel, because hard times will come.  But I trust His plans for me are out there, just waiting for me to go make them happen.  And I just can’t move forward if I’m stuck in the past, in her room, all alone.

So today I spent a little less time in her room, and a little more time on the phone and texting some friends about some plans we have for the future.

Appreciate your past but don’t get stuck in it.  Move on to the future God has planned for you.

Bessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

