Me versus My Yard

OK, I’m going to be brutally honest – about myself.  I do not like yard work.  Not in the spring, not in the fall, not in the summer, not at all.  I’ve got friends who love to dig and plant and water and weed but that’s just not my gift.  (You know it’s bad when I ask my husband if we can plant some flowers in some pots to give us a little color on the deck and he says, “As long as they are plants you can ignore all summer…”)

So yes, I’m not known for working in the yard, but we had a couple of beds in the back that needed attention – one looked like some kind of Amazon creatures could make a nice life for themselves in it and the other had 2 of the sickliest plants in them I’ve seen in awhile.  So this momma decided we were going to have family work in the yard day, which meant yes, even this momma was going to have to help.

Now I’ll admit my contribution was mainly directing what plants needed to go where and then planting the few containers of self-reliant plants we bought, but then I got on a roll about scrubbing the pollen off the chairs & cushions on our front porch.   I scrubbed and cleaned and then while they were drying I found something I was good at – using the blower!  (It requires little effort and even less ability.)

So after 3 hours of the 3 of us (a 14 year old son is free labor, BTW) uprooting, replanting, trimming, mowing, weeding, blowing and scrubbing we had accomplished our goal of reworking these 2 beds into areas that didn’t look like they belonged in a creepy horror movie.

yard

 Our reworked, simplified plant bed.

And I had accomplished something else:

I was dead dog tired.

I know, I know – don’t laugh! I really did work hard.  And in doing so I had reached a goal but was exhausted (as in, if I sit down in this chair on the deck and go to sleep will my husband put me in the bed or just leave me here until the morning?).

As Christians, we can work and work and work on a project, a mission, a person until we are just plumb tired.  And we’ve all had situations that were so bad we felt like we just didn’t have the strength to go on another minute, another day.  But thankfully we serve a God who never gets tired AND He fills us with strength just when feel we have none left.

“God doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath.  And he knows everything, inside and out.  He energizes those who get tired, gives fresh strength to dropouts.  For even young people tire and drop out, young folk in their prime stumble and fall.  But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.”  (Isaiah 40:28-31, The Message)

Fresh strength.  Just the sound of that gives me energy!  So, here’s the question:  are you exhausted?  Don’t try to go it alone.  Go get what only God can give you – fresh strength to continue, no matter what you face.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

 

 

Leave a Reply

